2012 Spring Sizzler Recap

41st Annual Spring Sizzler

Doug Coby sailed to his third career NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour victory Sunday in the Spring Sizzler at Stafford Motor Speedway. The Milford, Conn., driver led the final 89 laps of the 200-lap event en route to the victory over a pair of drivers who are well accustom to success on the historic half-mile.

“This is the best car I’ve driven in my life at this speedway,” Coby said from Victory Lane. “Today we had an amazing car, and to be able to put my name on the Sizzler win list twice now is pretty cool. It’s nice not to be a one-hit wonder on the Tour anymore.”

Coby’s first career win came at Stafford in the 2006 Spring Sizzler, and on Sunday he became the sixth driver in Whelen Modified Tour history to earn multiple trophies in the event dubbed “The Greatest Race in the History of Spring.”

Pole sitter Ryan Preece and Keith Rocco finished second and third, respectively. Preece was the 2011 NASCAR Whelen All-American Series SK Modified® Division champion at Stafford and Rocco was the 2008 and `10 track champ. Points leader Ron Silk and Jimmy Blewett rounded out the top five. Justin Bonsignore was sixth, followed by Ron Yuhas Jr., Woody Pitkat, Mike Stefanik and Bryon Chew, whose 10th-place finish was a Whelen Modified Tour career-best.

The race saw six caution periods and concluded in just 65 minutes with an average speed of 92.260 mph, the fastest Whelen Modified Tour race in history at the half-mile oval.