2007 Spring Sizzler Recap

36th Annual Spring Sizzler Recap

Donny Lia drove the fabled #4 Bob Garbarino owned “Mystic Missile” to its first ever Sizzler victory in a race that helped propel Lia and the Garbarino team to the 2007 Whelen Modified Tour championship.

The race came down to a two-man race between Lia and 2003 WMT Champion Todd Szegedy. A caution on lap-193 of 200 slowed the action with Lia in the lead and set the stage for an old fashioned sprint to the finish.

Szegedy took the lead from Lia on the lap-196 restart, but Lia got back around Szegedy on lap-198 and he held Szegedy off to the checkered flag to take the victory. Szegedy made a final charge off Turn 4 on the final lap but fell .13 seconds short. Lia and Szegedy swapped the lead three times over the final 29 laps and twice within the final five.

Szegedy came from the 22nd starting position finish second. Jerry Marquis was third, Mike Stefanik was fourth after taking a provisional starting position, and Zach Sylvester rounded out the Top-5 in the Racing Against Cancer Pontiac.

There were 11 lead changes during the race among 11 drivers.

Matt Hirschman set fast time in qualifying with a new track record time of 18.009 seconds at an average speed of 99.950 mph.