2003 Spring Sizzler Recap

32nd Annual Spring Sizzler Recap

Ted Christopher won his second consecutive Spring Sizzler, joining Richie Evans, Maynard Troyer, Greg Sacks, Mike Stefanik, Mike Ewanitsko, and Rick Fuller as repeat Sizzler winners. Christopher also became the first driver to win a Spring Sizzler after starting the race in the pole position.

Christopher led the first 22 laps of the race before Nevin George took over the top spot. Christopher would not get back to the lead position until lap-157.

Leaders of the race from lap-23 to lap-157 included George, Ed Flemke, Jerry Marquis, and Eric Beers. Flemke appeared to have the strongest car, leading from lap-57-115 before surrendering the lead to pit for fresh tires. Once back on the track, Flemke was charging through the field.

The race for the win came down to the last 10-laps between Christopher and Flemke. Flemke moved past Christopher on lap-193, but on lap-196, Christopher and Flemke made contact, with Flemke hitting the wall and ending his chances at victory. Christopher would go on to win the race by a half-second over eventual series Champion Todd Szegedy.

Rounding out the top-5 behind Christopher and Szegedy were Tony Hirschman, Chuck Hossfeld, and Ken Wooley, Jr. Tony Hirschman was the Bud Pole winner with a fast time of 18.703 seconds.