1990 Spring Sizzler Recap

19th Annual Spring Sizzler Recap

Sizzler-1990Pointing out lady luck was always on his side at Stafford, Mike Stefanik joined Richie Evans, Maynard Troyer, and Greg Sacks as the only drivers to win consecutive Sizzlers.

Stefanik took the lead from George Kent on a lap-165 restart. Reggie Ruggerio appeared to have the dominant car, but lost a tire which brought out the caution. The 200-lap event had only three leaders: Mike McLaughlin (1-66), Ruggerio (67-164), and Stefanik (165-200).

For the second consecutive year, McLaughlin finished second behind Stefanik. George Kent was third, with Rick Fuller fourth, and Reggie Ruggerio fifth.

Ruggerio had set fast time in qualifying with a 19.474 second effort. Tony Hirschman passed the most cars, coming from 29th starting spot to finish 9th.