1986 Spring Sizzler Recap

15th Annual Spring Sizzler Recap

Brian Ross stormed back from disappointment in ’85 to win in ’86. Gaining more fodder for the New Yorkers, Ross started fourth and assumed command of the race on lap-71 when leader Charlie Jarzombek dropped out of the race with motor problems.

Corky Cookman applied some late race pressure to Ross, but had to settle for his second runner-up spot in the last three Sizzlers.

Rounding out the top-5 behind Cookman were pole sitter Jamie Tomaino, who led the first 43 laps, Mike Stefanik, and Jimmy Spencer.